Close this search box.
Umrao Sethi (brandeis UNIVERSITY)
Existence "in" the Mind

2023 | 2024


MONDAY, 17 june 2024

18.00 - 19.45



Umrao Sethi is assistant professor of philosophy at Brandeis University. Prior to that, she was an assistant professor at the City University of New York. She received her PhD in philosophy from the University of California, Berkeley and her BA in Psychology from Columbia University. Her interests lie at the intersection of the philosophy of perception, metaphysics and early modern philosophy. She is currently writing a book on the nature of sensory experience and the sensible world. In 2022-2023, she was a William J. Bouwsma and NEH Fellow at the National Humanities Center in North Carolina. She has previously received a Professional Staff Congress-CUNY Research Award as well as funding from the New Directions in the Study of Mind Project based at Cambridge University.

Meeting Address

Senate House, University of London, Malet St, London WC1E 7HU.

meeting time

The Society’s philosophy talks take place every fortnight on Mondays throughout the academic year. Each talk starts at 18.00 and lasts for approximately an hour. The remainder of the time is dedicated to discussion, which ends at 19.45.


All of the Society’s philosophy talks are catered with fairtrade teas, coffees, and biscuits.


In line with the Society’s mission to make philosophy readily available to the general public, all talks are free and membership is not required.

Draft Papers

Following over a century of tradition, draft papers for all the talks are available in advance. Please note that draft papers can only be cited with the authors permission (see below for final publication and subscription details). The draft paper for a talk is available approximately one week prior to its schedule delivery.

Final Papers

For the past 142 years, the Proceedings has featured widely respected papers delivered by a range of prominent philosophers, such as Alfred North Whitehead, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Bertrand Russell, A.J. Ayer, P.F. Strawson, Karl Popper, Elizabeth Anscombe, Bernard Williams, Hubert Dreyfus, Alexander Nehamas, and Onora O’Neill. Final drafts of the papers – including discussion notes and exemplary graduate papers – are published in the Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society.


The venue at Senate House is wheelchair accessible and there are disabled toilet facilities on the ground floor. If you require a disabled parking space, or a hearing loop, please contact in advance, so that we can reserve these for you. Service animals are also welcome.