Close this search box.
Megan Blomfield (UNIVERSITY OF Sheffield)
Who is Responsible for the Climate Change Problem?

2022 | 2023


MONDAY, 30 January 2023

18.00 - 19.45



Megan is a Senior Lecturer in Political Philosophy at the University of Sheffield. She completed her PhD at the University of Bristol in 2014. This was followed by a Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Stanford Center for Ethics in Society and a lectureship at the University of Bristol, before joining the University of Sheffield in 2018. Megan’s research concerns global justice and the environment, focusing on the political philosophy of climate change. Her book on this topic–Global Justice, Natural Resources, and Climate Change–was published by Oxford University Press in 2019. Since finishing the book, Megan has turned her attention to the topic of land rights in a changing climate. She is also interested in questions of global justice more broadly speaking, including justice in migration and reparations for historical injustice.

Meeting Address

Senate House, University of London, Malet St, London WC1E 7HU.

meeting time

The Society’s philosophy talks take place every fortnight on Mondays throughout the academic year. Each talk starts at 18.00 and lasts for approximately an hour. The remainder of the time is dedicated to discussion, which ends at 19.45.


All of the Society’s philosophy talks are catered with fairtrade teas, coffees, and biscuits.


In line with the Society’s mission to make philosophy readily available to the general public, all talks are free and membership is not required.

Draft Papers

Following over a century of tradition, draft papers for all the talks are available in advance. Please note that draft papers can only be cited with the authors permission (see below for final publication and subscription details). The draft paper for a talk is available approximately one week prior to its schedule delivery.

Final Papers

For the past 142 years, the Proceedings has featured widely respected papers delivered by a range of prominent philosophers, such as Alfred North Whitehead, Ludwig Wittgenstein, Bertrand Russell, A.J. Ayer, P.F. Strawson, Karl Popper, Elizabeth Anscombe, Bernard Williams, Hubert Dreyfus, Alexander Nehamas, and Onora O’Neill. Final drafts of the papers – including discussion notes and exemplary graduate papers – are published in the Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society.


The venue at Senate House is wheelchair accessible and there are disabled toilet facilities on the ground floor. If you require a disabled parking space, or a hearing loop, please contact in advance, so that we can reserve these for you. Service animals are also welcome.